X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would you pay for these photos?

Hey, I'm a student and at the moment I'm going around Melbourne offering photography services for free (all occasions, ranging from a few product shots to an entire wedding, to expand my folio and experiences, I have an ad on this on Gumtree)

However, seeing I don't drive...getting around is tedious and it usually takes a lot more time travelling than the actual shoot, and also having to spend hours editing photos it's becoming harder to justify doing this for free.

Though...the upside is...I get to do things my way and with my own style because "I'm not getting paid", and usually they like it.

But I would like some income from this as well..I'm contemplating charging very little as a start ($20/hr? for the shoot only), but I'm not 100% confident that my photos are worth this much.

I have set up a Facebook page (http://www.willchaophotography.com) to display some of my work, can someone verify whether these are paid-gig worthy? If so, how much would they worth and how much should I charge? (I know..annoying question :P)

Thanks a lot!

Will

I can't wait to see what the pro and semi pro members here respond with.

Comment

I don't shoot for money either so I guess I can't really comment in that regard other than to say that value is likely in the eye of the beholder. However I can say I'm not a huge fan of your processing (you've got a sort of retro lomo feel going on there with everything (incl the food shots which I don't think fits that)) - but it is your style and I can appreciate that.

Comment

there is little correlation between being able to take stunning photos and doing well in a photography business.

a good business-person will do well with even mediocre images, and conversely, a poor business person will probably fail even with sh$t hot images.